42’s Take On The ‘Leaked Nudes’

“Just because I’m a public figure, just because I’m an actress, does not mean that I asked for this. It does not mean that it comes with the territory. It’s my body, and it should be my choice, and the fact that it is not my choice is absolutely disgusting. I can’t believe that we even live in that kind of world” – Jennifer Lawrence

“It’s my body, and it should be my choice,”

“My body… My choice,”

I feel I will gain backlash from this piece, but it to be my unnecessary-obligation to express my opinion, so before I begin this post I’d like to address the readers that I am for the progression of feminine equality. I am a feminist. The notion that anyone that has any scepticism on the revelations of the leaked photos of the many celebrities. Understand that female liberty and this story is separate, once you notice this significant difference, this piece will make more sense than anger.

Yes; true, Jennifer, its your body. Agreed. However, common practice entails one must regard themselves in a manner that one understands the consequences of one’s actions. Understanding this therein, no matter male, female, drag queen or other, the concept stands. The concept stands especially for those who choose to put their lives in the spotlight. The notion that one’s body is exclusive to their own interested eyes contradicts the choice of putting oneself into the spotlight where millions have interested eyes, for the positive or negative, and one must be content on that for its the price to be paid for reaping in capital.

I’d like to use the analogy of marriage; when we marry its for ‘sickness and in health’ till death do you part. If the husband fornicates with another woman, the monogamy is not only the fault of the home-wrecker, but also the fault of the husband. The husband has chosen to be with one woman therefore the second is none-but his own desire, and the fault mainly falls to him. Correspondingly; The celebrities as Jennifer have chosen to put themselves in a position of common interest, therefore must bow to the reaping of privacy. Just as a politician must bow to the reaping of self-indulgence, the beggar to dignity, the rich to inconspicuous and the list continues. Rather, the feminist; I hope, would instead defend the idea that women being glamourised and propped in the facade of pseudo-cultural beauty is for the pompously perverse.

The perverse is a whore of mental capacity, agreed. No respect is given to those who search for the images, seeking to gain sexual pleasure from stolen memories. Albeit he or she is in a tyranny of their own mental state, and have fallen to the animalistic sexual desire the common-man has dignified himself against. Maybe those who are caught with the images should be prosecuted, punished, penalised what have you, for this is an injustice prevalent in our cultural.

However, again, that doesn’t give leverage to celebrities who indulge in the perverse privacy, with the complacent protection against themselves. The iCloud leaks weren’t a surprise to me nor do I believe was it surprising to those knowing minutely on how the internet works. There is nothing safe on the internet, one mustn’t believe otherwise, and if one does, there lies the problem.

The lesson learnt here; if one is under intense scrutiny; one that has voluntarily chosen to be so, expect intense scrutiny. The internet never rests, the internet never sleeps.

Leave a Reply

